ACADEMIC EARTH

One of my good friends has recently enrolled at University as a mature student (indignation and circumstance prevented him from enrolling years ago).  His talking of the lectures, modules and debates got me yearning for those halcyon days once again, albeit this time without the bad diet and flippancy…

Well, Academic Earth is proving to be my saviour.  Launched in 2009, Academic Earth is an online program that offers many courses (including lectures) from a variety of top US Universities.  I’ve decided to undertake the ‘American Novel – since 1945‘ course; delighted that I can read the books and observe the lectures at my own pace (a luxury not afforded to ‘actual’ students).  It’s enough to satisfy my craving for academia – after all, once you’re finished, you’re finished, in many respects.  Academic Earth offers a way back to learning for some, and an introduction to something different for others.  A thoroughly worthwhile resource all round, I’d say.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

